Arc Ion-Plasma Technologies

The Basic features for Arc Ion-Plasma Technologies
  • Energy value of an atom evaporating from surface is for: (i) Cd — 50 eV/t and (ii) W — 850 eV/t
  • Mean material output value under Arc is for: (1) Cd — 31018 t/Cl and (ii) W — 0,21018 t/Cl
  • Under mean current of 100 A in a stationary Arc, the deposition rate (DR), for instance, of Ti is 71019 t/s or 20 gr/h; while if Ti is deposited onto the surface of 1000 m2, the DR can be 50 m /h.

At the moment of vacuum arc switching on a contraction on the target surface occurs which leads to forming a cathode spot. The spot produces target material vapor ionizing in the electrical field near to the cathode; thus the forming plasma is almost getting ionized and consists of multi charged ions plus a droplet phase of target material; the share of droplet phase is: (i) 10% for fusible and (ii) ~ 1% for refractory metals.

In order to get rid of the droplets special separators are employed.

The Arc Ion-Plasma Technologies are used to deposit the following coatings:

Arc evaporators using for the Arc Ion-Plasma Technologies are of high rate for coatings deposition. The mean current indicator for a single evaporator of various designs fluctuate from 50 to 500 ; the latter shows the prospects for Arc deposition application to meet the requirements for the coatings to be sputtered under high DR.

Дуговые ионно-плазменные технологии

Основные характеристики дуговых ионно-плазменных технологий:
  • Энергетическая цена атома, испаряемого с поверхности 50 эВ/ат для Cd и 850 эВ/ат для W.
  • Средний показатель производительности материала в дуге 3х1018 ат/Кл для Cd и 0,2х1018 ат/Кл для W.
  • При среднем токе в стационарной дуге 100 А производительность, например, по титану будет 7х1019 ат/с ~ 20 г/час, при этом если осаждать это покрытие на площади 1000 см2, можно достичь производительности 50 мкм/час.
При зажигании вакуумной дуги, происходит контракция на мишени катода с образованием катодного пятна, из которого выходит пар испаряемого материала, ионизирующийся в электрическом поле вблизи катода. Образующаяся при этом плазма практически полностью ионизирована и состоит из многозарядных ионов и капельной фазы материала мишени, доля которой у легкоплавких металлов составляет ~10%, а у тугоплавких металлов ~1%.

Для удаления капель применяются специальные сепараторы.

Области применения дуговых вакуумных ионно-плазменных технологий:

Для реализации дуговых ионно-плазменных технологий применяются дуговые испарители, обладающие высокой скоростью нанесения покрытий. Для них показатель среднего тока на один испаритель в различных конструкциях колеблется от 50 до 500 А, что указывает на перспективность применения дугового испарения металлов для задач высокоскоростного нанесения покрытий.